VISITS

Top Spring Trends of 2019

by Elizabeth Dreyer

Wednesday, May 1st, 2019 

The end of the school year is finally here. If you’re a fashion lover like me, you may notice how certain trends change throughout the season. With the blooming of flowers, brings a change of style and fashion.

 

Pastels and Lighter Colors-                                                                         Birkenstocks-

With the changing weather, you                                                                These are most definitely a

may notice more people shunning                                                              go-to during the spring

away from black jeans to a more                                                               season. They basically

brighter wear.                                                                                         match everything and are

                                                                                                            super comfy.

 

Flowy Blouses-                                                                                         Flowy Pants-

These shirts go perfect                                                                               Eat a big lunch- wear

with a comfortable mom                                                                            flowy pants. They are

or boyfriend jean. They’re                                                                         super comfortable and

very breathable and awesome                                                                  go good with any sandal.

for those hot weather days.

 

Hair Accessories-                                                                                   Oversized T-Shirts-

Cute scrunchies and                                                                               Walk around the halls of

headbands are taking over this                                                                 Oak Hills and you will see

spring season. Vibrant headbands                                                           almost all of the girls

bring a new laid back look to your                                                           wearing them. Oversized

style.                                                                                                   shirts give a chill and causal look.

Music Choices for Prom of the 2000s

by Jackie Finke

Friday, April 26th, 2019 

2000

  • Cha Cha by DJ Casper

2001

  • All For You by Janet Jackson

2002

  • Foolish by Ashanti

2003

  • Get Busy by Sean Paul

2004

  • Yeah! By Usher Ft. Lil Jon and Ludacris

2005

  • Hollaback Girl by Gwen Stefani

2006

  • SOS by Rihanna

2007

  • Makes Me Wonder by Maroon 5

2008

  • Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis

2009

  • Boom Boom Pow by The Black Eyed Peas

2010

  • OMG by Usher Ft. will.i.am.  

2011

  • Rolling in the Deep by Adele

2012

  • Somebody That I Used to Know by Gotye Ft. Kimbra

2013

  • Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

2014

  • All of Me by John Legend

2015

  • See You Again by Wiz Khalifa Ft. Charlie Puth

2016

  • One Dance by Drake

2017

  • Bad and Boujee by Migos Ft. Lil Uzi Vert

2018

  • Dance, Dance by Fall Out Boy

 

What will be the most popular this year for prom? You can fill out a form to choose what you want to dance to this year! Have an amazing time at prom!

Senior Year

by Emma Supe

Thursday, April 11th, 2019 

Being a senior is bittersweet. It’s almost time for an exciting new start, but also time to leave my best friends, and the people I’ve grown up with for 12 years. One of my best friends from elementary school is leaving for college in Florida after summer ends and I might not ever see her again after graduation. The teachers that have grown to be more of friends than educators, will no longer be in my life every day. My junior friends will be here next year, and I won’t see them for 3 bells every day. My 7 bell daily routine will be a thing of the past. The life that I have lived for the past 4 years will be gone and I will no longer be a high school senior.

 

Living in the moment is hard when you know that some of these moments will be gone. Going to my last high school football game watching my senior boyfriend play under the Friday night lights was a moment that hit me and I missed it before it was even over. Sitting front row in the cheering section after 3 years of being shoved to the back was a great feeling until it was over.  Winning Powderpuff as a senior and ringing the bell was the coolest feeling. Going to my last Homecoming and going to the pep rally was something that I never want to leave behind. Experiencing the last of everything is fun but sad. The days I won’t miss will be the endless boring days and all the days in between the fun stuff that makes high school drive by.

 

Looking back on my freshman year, I was in gym first bell. There was a junior in my class, Alishia Perish. She told me and a couple of other girls how she couldn't believe that she was a junior already. She said it felt like just yesterday she was walking into her first day here as a freshman. I remember thinking how much I wanted to be done with school, and how I thought my 4 years would feel like 40. Now here I am, 4 years later, and I feel as if I blinked and I was a senior in my last month of school. Time flew by too fast and I wish I could go back and relive some memories. I started crying in my car this morning because I remembered that prom was coming up and it would be my last dance like this ever. It’s so hard being a senior. Those are the things that make this year the best one yet.

 

Graduation is on May 18th. I’ve been waiting for that day since August 14th, the first day of school. Now, I am dreading it. I want this last month to drag by. The best times of my high school career will be in this final month and I’m not ready for it to be over already. I’m not ready to leave my home yet. Yeah, college will be a new adventure and it will be fun I’m sure of it. But nothing will ever come close to high school. The feeling of security and comfort is what makes this place so hard to leave behind. Oak Hills, I will miss you dearly. Underclassman; appreciate every day you are here because when you get to be in my shoes you’ll wish you would have.

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly Of The Spring Season

by Gabrielle Dreyer

Wednesday, March 1st, 2019 

It’s finally getting warmer...Spring is here! The Spring season is the time where you shed your winter depression and channel your inner happiness. Spring is one of the most beautiful times of the year; the sun comes out, the bees come out, and the flowers start to come out too. Many good, bad, and ugly things happen during the Spring season that could ultimately affect your day…

 

The good:

  • Flowers- One of the main reasons why Spring is so beautiful is because all the flowers that bloom throughout the season. The flowers can range from roses, tulips, and sunflowers. These flowers can change the mood of your decor, and could also be used as a present. Flowers make the Spring season look as if you are walking into the flower section of Michaels.

  • Baseball season- Baseball season comes around this time of year. If you are a fan of baseball, as I am, then you are just as excited for baseball season to start. The sport of baseball is so amusing to watch, as people have to work together to be successful.

  • Getting closer to the end of the school year- YES! It’s almost here ladies and gentlemen. The end of the school year is getting closer and closer, and we students cannot wait for the time to come. When Spring rolls around, the days left until summer started to get lower and lower.

  • The warmer weather- With Spring comes warmer weather. Warmer weather increases positivity and the mood of most people. More activities can be done outside with the warmer weather. The days start to get longer and you are able to be outside for much longer than you were in Winter.

  • Track Season- When baseball season begins, the track season also starts. Here at Oak Hills, track is a very popular sport. The start of track is a very exciting time since so many students are passionate about the sport.

 

In all circumstances, there are bad things that do go with the good…

 

The bad:

  • Losing an hour of sleep- Because the blue sky shows a little longer than in Winter, we do end up losing an hour of sleep. Look, we students are already tired enough from going to school for 7 hours...so losing an hour of sleep may be hard to cope with.

  • Storms- During the Springtime, storms tend to increase. Storms can be very scary, and as well as limit the activities you do outside. Especially in sports, storms can delay or even cancel a game.

  • Never knowing what to wear- You never know what to wear during the Spring. It can be cold one day, hot the other, and nothing ever seems to be comfortable. Dressing almost seems like a mission impossible activity since nothing ever seems to work!

  • Fewer snow days- Unfortunately there are fewer snow days, which means more school. Yes, school can be great sometimes, but a day off is like heaven!

 

As there are bad things about the Springtime, there are even worse things…

 

The ugly:

  • AP tests- AP tests that we stressed high schoolers take are very, very ugly. The whole year we have been working so hard to pass one test to get that college credit. Because of this, teachers try to cram in the last minute work that could affect how you do on the test.

  • That little bit of time before summer- As said above, it's great that summer is almost here. But, that waiting time is awful. We know that summer is close… but it’s not close enough! It almost feels like an eternity until summer.

  • Standardized tests- Standardized tests are created by the state. Schools have to meet certain criteria to be called “successful.” Teachers give lessons throughout the year to make sure we do good on these two-hour tests. These tests are not fun to take!

Five Feet Apart

by Bre Luca

Tuesday, February 16th, 2019 

Since my high school career started I have not been much of a reader. It is difficult

to find time with the piles of other work I have to do, and mainly because Hulu has

some pretty great shows. Anyways, I’m not sure if you have seen the trailer for the

new “Five Feet Apart” movie, but it looks pretty good. I got the book as a gift from

my grandma so I decided to read it over the four day weekend. Let me just say, it

was a pretty great book.

 

    I love reading books about teen romance and this book was the perfect example

of that. “Five Feet Apart” was written by Rachael Lippincott and is much like John

Green’s novel “The Fault in Our Stars” with the teenage love interests both having some

type of illness. In this novel both of the love interests, Stella and Will, have Cystic Fibrosis

(CF). This disease makes Stella and Will stay six feet away from each other at all times

or else they could catch more illness and die soon after.

 

    The book starts out in Stella’s perspective. She has major OCD, obsessive cleaning disorder, and she has been going to the same hospital since she was 6 years old. Her parents are now divorced and she has a sister that remains distant for the majority of the book. She has a best friend, Poe, that she met on her first day at the hospital. Poe also has CF so they have never been able to be within six feet of each other.

 

    This disease causes them to always have to go to the hospital whenever they get a slight fever or cough. The odds of them living a full life without a lung transplant are slim to none. Stella is the next one on the list for a new set of lungs but she is in the hospital because she had a fever. During her time there, Poe came into the hospital as well as a new guy.

 

    Will has dealt with CF for a majority of his life. He started to lose faith that he would be able to get past it, especially since he got B. Cepcia, a deadly bacteria. This disease on top of CF stops Will from being able to get the lung transplant he needs. His mom does not want to give up, though. She keeps moving him hospitals all over to try new trials to help him. The main downfall is that he doesn’t do the treatments the way he is supposed to.

 

    Stella first encounters Will while he was pawning out of his room for his friends. Immediately she was disgusted by him and continued to go to the nursery.  Will followed her up there because he found her very attractive. Stella began to see his lack of care about his well being so she strikes a deal with him: If they do their treatments together, fully, Will is allowed to draw Stella.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just like every teen romance novel, this leads to feelings with many, many complications. The biggest problem is that they are not able to be within six feet of each other. They sneak around at night when their nurse gets off and they do workouts together as well. Stella pushes him away a few times because she wants to get her new lungs and she goes back and forth deciding if spending time with Will is worth it. Will also struggles with this problem as well, but he cares about Stella’s well being and doesn’t want to put her life at risk. They end up going on an official date where they stay five feet apart. Stella said that CF has stole so much from her so she is going to still one foot back.

 

    This book is full of so many twists and turns. It kept me on my toes throughout the whole thing. I highly recommend it, especially since the movie is coming out on March 15th. Enjoy Reading!

Favorite Valentine's Day Movies

by Liz Dreyer

Thursday, February 14th, 2019 

  1. Lady and the Tramp- The Lady and the Tramp is a classic film made in 1955. It tells a story of a Cocker Spaniel named Lady, who lives with a wealthy family. Then, Lady and a stray dog named Tramp meet and fall in love. You might know Lady and the Tramp by their famous scene of the two dogs eating spaghetti, which leads to an adorable kiss.

  2. Beauty and the Beast- Watching either the 2017 film or the 1991 classic, you will go through a journey of a love that knows no boundaries. A selfish prince becomes cursed and turns into a beast. An act of true love will reverse the spell, but it must happen before the last rose petal falls.

  3. How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days- If you’re into romantic comedies, this one’s for you. Andie Anderson, a magazine writer, is bored with writing the same thing. She wants to expand her writing through politics, religion, and poverty. Ben Barry, advertising executive, is wanting to advertise a new diamond campaign. He bets to his boss that he can make any woman fall in love with him in 10 days.

  4. Love Actually- A 2003, Christmas film, follows the lives of different couples managing their love lives. It’s a romantic comedy based mostly in London, England. This is a definite must for Valentine’s Day (even if you’re spending it alone).

  5. Be My Valentine, Charlie Brown- This animated film will warm your heart this cold Valentine’s Day. Linus falls in love with his teacher, Miss Othmar. He buys her a large box of chocolates and Violet warns him that it might not be a good idea to fall in love with his teacher. When he leaves the room, Sally believes he bought it for her. This story will definitely hit you in the heart.  

  6. The Notebook-  Get ready for some tears. It starts with an elderly man who reads a romantic story from his perspective. It then goes back in the past when he was a young man. It tells a story of a poor boy and a rich girl who falls in love. It’s a journey of love and heartbreak that will definitely get your tears flowing.  

  7. The Kissing Booth- Teenage girl Elle, has a crush on her best friend’s brother. She risks her relationship with her best friend to be with the boy. Elle and her best friend host a kissing booth at the carnival to raise money for the dancing club. While at the carnival, she experiences a kiss with her crush. If you’re looking for a laugh this Valentine’s Day, The Kissing Booth is for you.

  8. 10 Things I hate About You- Kat Stratford is a smart girl who isn't’ known for getting many boys. Her younger sister, Bianca,  says that she can’t date until Kat has a boyfriend. This then leads to meeting Patrick Verona, which eventually leads to falling for him.

  9. Before We Go- While in the Grand Central Terminal, Nick Vaughan sees her, a women who dropped her phone trying to catch a train. Nick returns her phone to her and insists on buying a cab. He realizes his card is declined and during this situation, his phone dies. He helps the woman find her missing purse, which leads to a journey for the two.

  10. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before- Teenager, Lara Jean wrote secret love letters and they somehow get mailed to the boys in the letters. This then creates conflict between many boys and eventually leads to a fake relationship. Will Lara Jean fall for the boy she’s in a fake relationship with?

Top 10 Gifts Not to Get Your Valentine 

by Jaden Thompson

Tuesday, February 12th, 2019 

Each year, we get our valentines the cliche flowers and chocolates. You may want to do something

a bit more extravagant this year. But I’m not here to give you advice on gifts to get your Valentine. No,

I’m going to tell you what gifts not to get your Valentine.

 

  1. We’ve all heard of those homemade coupon books reading “one free hug” or “free movie night”, etc.. Honestly, if I need a coupon to receive a hug, then you’re probably gonna receive a “Bye, Felica” from my part!

  2. The Breakup. This is the lowest of lows in my book. In a LOT of people’s books, actually.

  3. Toothpaste, deodorant, you get the idea. Whether you have good intentions or not, giving a girl (or guy) some toothpaste for Valentine’s isn’t going to be as fresh of a gift as you’re hoping.

  4. Nothing says “true love” like an allergic reaction! If your Valentine is allergic to peanuts, don’t give them Reese Cups. It’s quite simple.

  5. Just what YOU always wanted! When looking for a gift, make sure what you get your Valentine what your Valentine would want, not something you would want.

  6. A bouquet of Bacon Flowers. Wait... that would actually be a fabulous (and delectable) idea!

  7. Naming them after the scab you got while playing football. I don’t think this needs any commentary...

  8. A framed photo of none but yourself. As adorable as you are, we don’t want a picture of you. We’ve got plenty of those. Also, wouldn’t be more meaningful if it like, included a picture of you and your Valentine? Of course that just my opinion.

  9. A kiddy Valentine card. As cute as they are, we aren’t in elementary school anymore.

  10. The absolute most horrible gift is not giving your Valentine a gift at all. Just a heads up, if you want to live, you should probably get them something. Anything! Except for anything above...

 

Presents may not be your strong suit, but hopefully, this will give you the proper insight on what NOT to get your Valentine this year. And hey, there’s nothing wrong with the cliche flowers, chocolate, and a night out. Some people like it classic! But if you do plan to do something “out there” just make sure it’s not too out there!

Top 10 Gifts Not to Get Your Valentine 

by Jaden Thompson

Tuesday, February 12th, 2019 

Each year, we get our valentines the cliche flowers and chocolates. You may want to do something

a bit more extravagant this year. But I’m not here to give you advice on gifts to get your Valentine. No,

I’m going to tell you what gifts not to get your Valentine.

 

  1. We’ve all heard of those homemade coupon books reading “one free hug” or “free movie night”, etc.. Honestly, if I need a coupon to receive a hug, then you’re probably gonna receive a “Bye, Felica” from my part!

  2. The Breakup. This is the lowest of lows in my book. In a LOT of people’s books, actually.

  3. Toothpaste, deodorant, you get the idea. Whether you have good intentions or not, giving a girl (or guy) some toothpaste for Valentine’s isn’t going to be as fresh of a gift as you’re hoping.

  4. Nothing says “true love” like an allergic reaction! If your Valentine is allergic to peanuts, don’t give them Reese Cups. It’s quite simple.

  5. Just what YOU always wanted! When looking for a gift, make sure what you get your Valentine what your Valentine would want, not something you would want.

  6. A bouquet of Bacon Flowers. Wait... that would actually be a fabulous (and delectable) idea!

  7. Naming them after the scab you got while playing football. I don’t think this needs any commentary...

  8. A framed photo of none but yourself. As adorable as you are, we don’t want a picture of you. We’ve got plenty of those. Also, wouldn’t be more meaningful if it like, included a picture of you and your Valentine? Of course that just my opinion.

  9. A kiddy Valentine card. As cute as they are, we aren’t in elementary school anymore.

  10. The absolute most horrible gift is not giving your Valentine a gift at all. Just a heads up, if you want to live, you should probably get them something. Anything! Except for anything above...

 

Presents may not be your strong suit, but hopefully, this will give you the proper insight on what NOT to get your Valentine this year. And hey, there’s nothing wrong with the cliche flowers, chocolate, and a night out. Some people like it classic! But if you do plan to do something “out there” just make sure it’s not too out there!

What Makes a Good Teacher?

by Morgan Butts

Tuesday, January 29th, 2019 

Working as a teacher isn’t the hardest job in the world, but it definitely isn’t the easiest. Teaching is one of the most important jobs available because teachers educate the future of society. Whether or not a teacher is successful in their educating depends on their qualities. In order for a teacher to be good, they have to obtain a few qualities.

 

A teacher should be understanding and have connections with their students. When a teacher is too strict, the students might feel that they have to be perfect all the time and can’t make mistakes ever, which is impossible for anyone. The teacher needs to understand that sometimes things happen and mistakes are made. While they should be understanding, they cannot be too understanding. Some students will take advantage of a teacher who is too understanding. A teacher also needs to make connections with students because it will allow them to feel comfortable talking to the teacher or asking questions if something isn’t understood. It’s important to feel comfortable while making the students feel they are respected.

 

A teacher should be passionate about teaching. If a teacher doesn’t have any passion for teaching then it’s obvious to the students. The teacher doesn’t want to be there, the students don’t want to be there, then nothing is learned. A passionate teacher holds the attention of the students. Even if the content is something nobody wants to learn, if the students are engaged, they are learning. Without passion, the class is what the students dread every day they come to school. It makes the class boring and a waste of time for everyone participating in it. Doing all of the work that goes along with being a teacher can be tedious and complicated, then a teacher without passion will end up hating their job. Passion is an important trait to possess.

 

A teacher should be organized. Organization in the classroom is essential. Without it, teachers get confused, students get behind, and the class is a mess. If a teacher is disorganized, it is more likely that they will lose a student’s paper or forget about a due date, causing the students more stress, which is something that everyone wants to avoid. Organization is essential to avoid chaos and confusion in the classroom.

 

A teacher should be effective. What the students take away from a class depends entirely on whether the teacher leaves a lasting effect or not. An effective teacher has lesson plans that give the students a clear plan on what they will be learning and helps them understand, even taking out personal time to stay after school and give guidance. Students will remember what they learned and how it applies to the world if the teacher gives them a reason to. A teacher should leave a positive impact and influence the students’ futures for years to come.

 

A teacher should have expectations. Without expecting something from their students, there will be no results. If a teacher expects very little from a student, that student will only give that little that is expected. With higher expectations, students will know what they are needed to do and work to complete it. The high expectations give a sense of confidence because students see that the teacher knows they can do well and don’t want to let them down. Disappointing a teacher is almost as bad as disappointing a parent. The teacher also needs to hold high expectations for themselves because they don’t want to say one thing for students and then something else entirely different. With high expectations comes high results.

 

Here at Oak Hills, we are very lucky to have so many great teachers who meet these qualifications. If you haven’t, take a second to thank a teacher for all that they do to help you be successful moving into the future.

Halloween (2018) Review 

by Nathan Brown

Tuesday, January 29th, 2019 

40 years of less than adequate sequels, reboots, and spiritual successors has tainted the once pristine reputation of John Carpenter’s Halloween. Until now, the Halloween franchise has been seen as a laughing stock among the horror community. Campy, cheesy, C-grade entertainment are many of the adjectives that have been used to describe the franchise. However, Director David Gordon Green had another vision: ignore the plot’s of the other eight sequels and make a direct follow-up to the 1978 original as Halloween (2018).  A risky venture, but thanks to Green’s expert handling of the plot, it was a homerun success.

 

Taking place in October 2018 (the same time the film released to cinemas) the film opens up on two reporters (Aaron and Dana)  visiting Michael Myers, who’s spent the last 40 years in prison after the events of the 1978 original. After showing Myers his notorious mask and mention longtime rival Laurie Strode, Myers refuses to speak. Being the sole survivor of the 1978 murders, Laurie and Myers both have a burning hatred for one another. Aaron and Dana meet with Laurie, who has spent the last 40 years dealing with PTSD, waiting for the night that Myers would escape, and she could finally kill him. Throughout the last 40 years, Laurie has trained to become a fighter, fortifying her house with traps, fortifications, and various weapons in order to enact her revenge on Myers. After Laurie kicks the reporters out of her house, all heck breaks loose. The transport carrying Myers crashes, and once again, he escapes and returns to Haddonfield to enact another gory Halloween killing spree, all the while searching for his life-long adversary.


On a budget of an estimated $10,000,000, the film has since grossed $253,688,035, not counting home media sales. IMDB currently has it sitting at a 6.7/10, and Rotten Tomatoes has it at a 79% approval rating. In a world where 7 sequels and 2 reboots exist, the fact that a film that directly follows up the events of the first film, Halloween (2018) is truly a remarkable film. While not a perfect movie, it’s truly a fun experience to see Michael Myers continue his reign of terror in an age where terrible movies made purely for profit is the new normal. Halloween (2018) earns a 4.0 out of 5 from me. If you enjoy the horror movies of the past, please check this film out because you won’t be disappointed.

Dunkin or Starbucks, Which do You Prefer

by Gabby Dreyer

Tuesday, January 29th, 2019 

You need it to survive. You need it to get through the day. Oh gosh, you can’t even imagine a day without it!

Coffee. Yes, I’m talking about coffee.

 

Coffee has shaped the world around us greatly. Don’t believe me? Well, look at it this way. The coffee industry has advanced so much that there are 14,000 Starbucks and 10,858 Dunkin coffee shops around the world. Those two big franchises are superior coffee shops that a majority of people get their coffee from. Both coffee shops have varieties of coffee that allows you to mix and match flavors to create your favorite coffee. Because both coffee shops are very large corporations, there is a major competition between both coffee shops. Some prefer Dunkin, while some prefer Starbucks. It all depends on how you like your coffee. Starbucks coffee tends to have a stronger coffee flavor while Dunkin’s coffee is a lot more subtle. An older audience would rather stop at Starbucks for a quick coffee because of the strong coffee taste. But, younger coffee lovers would rather go to Dunkin because of how sweet the flavor is.

 

So, which coffee shop is better? Before we actually look at the flavors, we have to look at the prices… A large coffee from Dunkin can range from $2-3, while a large Starbucks coffee can range from $4-5. In reality, Dunkin coffee is cheaper than Starbucks coffee, no matter what size you get. I don’t know about you, but I would rather pay less for my much-needed coffee. The coffee cup sizes are also different. A large iced coffee from Dunkin is a lot bigger than the large iced coffee from Starbucks. Which would you want to pay for? A larger coffee for less, or a smaller coffee for more?

                

Both Starbucks and Dunkin offer a variety of food and dessert items. These items are very similar in price. Both coffee shops offer different sandwiches that you can eat any time of the day. Starbucks is famous for their one-of-a-kind cake pops that are, in fact, very delicious. Dunkin offers a variety of donuts, but Starbucks may have beat Dunkin on this one. Cake pops are a unique dessert and many places do not carry them.

 

Not going to lie, I am pretty biased towards Dunkin. I personally think it tastes a lot better, and there are more flavors that appeal to me. I am a high school teenager who would rather spend money on gas than coffee. Since Dunkin is a lot cheaper than Starbucks, I prefer Dunkin tremendously. I am highly obsessed with coffee, like really… and Dunkin gives you more coffee than Starbucks does. As I arrive at school in the morning, I see a lot of teenagers, like me, who always drink Dunkin coffee. In reality, I think multiple teens my age would prefer Dunkin over Starbucks. Though, I believe that older people would prefer Starbucks over Dunkin. I see more older women and men walk around with the Starbucks cup rather than the Dunkin cup.

It’s your decision whether you prefer Dunkin or Starbucks for your coffee. But, think about the logical ideas behind the prices and the size of the cup. No matter what you choose, you're still going to get the survival item you need every day!

Why the MCU is the Best Movie Universe Ever

by CJ Wilke

Monday, January 28th, 2019 

There are some huge movie universes that are well-known by almost everyone. Some of these include the Star Wars Universe, the Marvel Universe (MCU), and the D.C. Universe. But the question is, which is the best? I personally think there is a clear answer. The Marvel cinematic universe has been a crazy rollercoaster that has been, by far, superior to the others in question.

 

First, it’s such an expansive web of characters that is only getting larger. Since Marvel has (sort of) gotten the rights back to Spider-Man, along with the recent purchases from Fox, the Fantastic 4 and X-Men are now back under the control of Marvel. This alone shows how the comics are being produced on the screen and the expansive stories that have been told are coming alive. It also has been predicted that many of the characters that Marvel hasn’t used yet will be getting solo movies or will be added to the new movies coming out soon. One of these projects is the fan-predicted Nova movie in the works, or the possibility of the character being an addition to a larger movie in the future. Needless to say, the Universe continues to expand yearly.

 

We know their signature formula works because, as of now, the MCU is 20 movies deep into what has become the most profitable movie franchise of all time, despite competition with other franchises like Harry Potter and Star Wars. However, the monetary profit alone doesn’t really show it’s cultural impact altogether. But this is also something that the MCU has covered. With the build up to the first Avengers movie combined with the interest it garnered afterwards, this debut film started a large, interconnected cinematic universe. Along with this, I think that the MCU will be around to last because movies will constantly continue to come out. Even if it ends, the Marvel fans will continue to return to older films to rewatch the journeys.

In conclusion, I think the MCU is and will continue to be the best movie universe of all time. Marvel will be around forever.

Ugh! Not This Again

by Bre Luca

Thursday, January 24th, 2019 

I think everyone experiences writer's block at least five times in whatever English class they are in, at least I hope so.  I experience block about three times every week it feels like. I just start thinking about topics to write about...and then some more topics after that. The only problem is that as soon as I start writing, all my ideas are just like, "See ya later, good luck writing this one." They have a mind of their own, but that's normal right?

 

Probably the biggest reason I get writer's block so often is that I can never pick one path for my writing.  You might not understand what that means, so let me elaborate. For example, when I am trying to come up with something to write about on my blog I think of different topics and different ways to write about that one topic.  One time, I wanted to write an article about friends and when I began to plan it out I thought of many different things I could say. I wasn’t able to choose the right path because there were so many different ways it could have been written. If I were to write through all the different ways, my article would be a miniature novel when I was done with it.

 

I love to write and come up with all these ideas, no matter how annoying it may be if an idea doesn’t work. If you relate you should join the Tartan. But, I make it 10 times harder on myself than I need to. I feel like I have to make everything perfect when I write.  It is very hard for me to pick one way to write about something because I get a nervous feeling that maybe doing it the other way would have made me look smarter or it would have had a better flow. I have a serious problem with overthinking, I even overthink how much I overthink.

 

Other than being a perfectionist that overthinks everything, I also get sidetracked easily.  I do sometimes get distracted by my phone, but mainly I think about random things for no point.  While writing this article so far, I have thought about what I am going to be doing after school and if my cat has separation anxiety when I’m school (I definitely have it for her all day). When we get the technology and science advanced enough I think it would be adventurous to take a field trip inside my head for a day, I don't even know what goes on in it half the time.

 

Even though my brain seems to wander off on its own sometimes I still believe experiencing writer's block is normal. I have talked to some people and most of them said that to overcome writer's block you should take a break from your writing and maybe try to write about something you know.  There are other ways to overcome writer's block, click here for 14 tips to overcome writer's block, Good Luck Chuck!

Decorating For Christmas

By Morgan Butts

Monday, December 17th, 2018

Christmas decorating has gone through many changes over the years. When it first began, all people did was hang a few ornaments on a small tree, but now, people go all out. There’s blow up decorations, ornaments, lights, and even clothing that goes all out. Times have definitely changed.

 

In the 1900s, most of the ornaments were made of glass and had pretty general designs. Each was a small ball or a variation of the shape. Nothing too different. The Christmas trees were smaller in size and had only a few decorations hanging from them. There were no decorations for outside or clothing that anyone wore to celebrate. It was just like most other holidays except there was a tree added. Christmas wasn’t as anticipated or hyped up as it is now.

 

In today’s society though, Christmas is one of the most ‘famous’ holidays. Most people get excited about it and a lot of people go all out to celebrate and decorate. Some of the traditions carry on such as ornaments and the Christmas trees. They are pretty much a given in every house that celebrates. However, now, there are blowup decorations ranging from Santa Claus and his reindeer to characters from popular movies like Frosty the Snowman or Mickey Mouse. Lights hang from almost every roof down neighborhood streets. Some stores like to participate in showing a little Christmas cheer as well. There are even debates on when to start decorating for the holidays because people just can’t wait to get into the spirit.

Comparing the minimal decorations in the 1900s to the extravagant decorating we do now, Christmas has gone through some changes. There are now so many options for how you can decorate and show some spirit.

My Thanksgiving Food Review

by Jessica Johnson

Thursday, November 29th, 2018 

Swearing In School

by Kyra Lough

Thursday, December 13th, 2018 

The United States, unlike other countries, seems to have integrated swearing into everyday life. Where ever you go, it is likely you will hear a couple of curses, maybe some of them coming out of your own mouth. However, while cursing out loud is acceptable, directing a derogatory term at someone isn’t. There are boundaries people chose not to cross, but there are some people willing to jump over. We curse when we are angry, we curse when we are in pain, and we curse when we are frustrated. These all seem to be normal reactions. Teens and young adults today are now not only cursing from these negative emotions, but they are also cursing to express all emotions. To them, it’s just a way to express their opinions. The freedom that comes with swearing, is oppressed in many places. Some schools don’t tolerate any swearing, especially when it is directed to towards another. While other schools seem to be ignorant of any policy, and allow cursing to ensue, Oak Hills tends to be in the middle of all of this. Students, and even occasionally teachers and administration, have been heard cursing. No one seems to ever be offended by it. Derogatory terms and name-calling, on the other hand, is definitely hurtful and can lead to many consequences. With the notorious “fight week” last week, it has come to both students and staff alike that aggression seems to lead directly to physical altercations. Are swear words to blame? Not exactly. Most of the swearing heard in the hallways and classrooms do not seem to directly target anyone. It generally consists of regular curses that even parents often say. Oak Hills most likely isn’t able to stop everyone from cursing. They will, however, enforce a punishment for anything extreme and that targets someone. If the swearing hurts someone, you become susceptible to punishment.

 

So should we be allowed to swear in school? Sure. As long as no one is being hurt, it seems that cursing is normal in the building. Everyone’s opinions will differ in the matter, and we must accept that. Just remember to please be respectful and courteous to your peers and teachers.

Thanksgiving, also known as the official end of the summer bod and into hibernation season. No more worrying about working out, and on November 22nd, all heck broke loose when my mom yelled: “DINNER IS READY!”. All of the kids rushed to the table to grab their food. Here is the order I grabbed my food and why it was my favorite.

  1. Turkey: The most classic part of the meal, I mean heck, it is the symbol of Thanksgiving. The aroma of the turkey cooking in my house is unforgettable, and the flavor makes me drool just thinking about it. White meat is preferable, by the way. If you eat dark meat, you’re missing out on a good time.

  2. Stuffing: Ahh, stuffing. I was never a fan of it in the past, but as my taste-buds matured, my choices of food expanded, and I decided to give this savory food a second chance. Boy, was that a good decision. My aunt makes the best stuffing no doubt, and if you have not tried it, TRY IT (preferably not my aunt’s, that would be weird, especially if you do not know her.)

  3. Green Bean Casserole: I got greens, beans, potatoes, tomatoes, lamb, ram, hogs, dogs (if you know, you know). All jokes aside, Green Bean Casserole is another one I was not a fan of. The sight of vegetables made me squeamish, but now, I have to go up for thirds when it comes to this part of the meal. I guess it cancels out the other stuff because it has vegetables in it?

  4. Mashed Potatoes: After analyzing all of these, I was a very picky eater, because I was not a big fan of these either. After being forced to eat them, I learned to love them, which led me to put three giant spoonfuls of it on my plate.

  5. Cranberry Sauce: The most underappreciated food of them all. I would not be mad if it were sold all year. The sweetness and beautiful color soothes me and heals me from all bad in the world. I wish it was not so hated, and we could all just spread the love of Cranberry Sauce.

  6. Corn: I could write a whole article on corn. Straight from the Midwest cornfields into my salivating mouth, no vegetable can beat this crop. Sadly, I had to make room for other foods and I could not get my desired portion of corn. Next year I will dedicate a plate to corn, quote me on that.

  7. Rolls: King’s Hawaiian Sweet Rolls, that is all. No, this is not a sponsor; just a section dedicated to one of the loves of my life. No Thanksgiving meal is complete without these babies.

  8. Mac and Cheese: Not the usual Easy Mac, and even better than the Spongebob shaped macaroni. I’m talking homemade, straight out of the oven with shell-shaped macaroni and melted fresh cheese. I cannot think of anyone who does not like Mac and Cheese, even lactose intolerant people!

  9. Pumpkin Pie: The worst dessert of them all, I added this because I have no idea how you hooligans enjoy this garbage. Thank u, next.

  10. Apple Pie: Last, but definitely not the least. Again, it cancels out the bad foods because it has apples, and an apple a day keeps the doctor away! Here is a tip: add vanilla ice cream, you will thank me later ;).

Venom Review

by Nathan Brown

Wednesday, November 28th, 2018 

In 2007, Sam Rami’s Spider-Man 3 was released into theaters and gave audiences their first look at the popular villain, Venom, for the first time in live action. Needless to say, fans weren’t impressed with Topher Grace’s portrayal of the supervillain. Ever since then, spiderman movies have stayed away from the character, until now. Director Ruben Fleischer decided to give the villain his own solo movie, and the rest is history. Venom was released on October 5, 2018.

 

Venom’s origin is tricky. More specifically, he started out as an alien suit that bonded with Spider-man. However, the suit made him more brutal and rage-filled, so he got rid of it. The suit then bonded with a disgraced reporter named Eddie Brock. Brock hated Spider-man and Brock blamed him for the loss of his job. The suit used Brock’s rage and once bonded, became the super-villain Venom. However, this new adaptation offers a new look at the origin of the monster.

Venom takes place inside of Sony’s “Spider-Man spinoff universe”. This universe is a spin-off featuring important Spider-man characters, both heroes and villains, but without the titular hero due to right’s being shared with Marvel Studios and Disney. Therefore, Venom has to dance very carefully around the Spider-man oriented parts of the character’s origin, and to the film’s credit, pulls off very well. It casts Tom Hardy as Eddie Brock, which was a perfect casting. The film pits him against Carlton Drake, CEO of the Life Foundation, and the reason the alien symbiotes are on earth. Venom bonds with Eddie and the two form a relationship in order to save the planet and Kill Drake before he dooms the planet to a symbiote invasion.


On a critical scale, Venom flopped hard with critics. Currently, on Rotten Tomatoes, it sits at a low 30% with critics. However, the audience score is much higher, sitting at 87%. This mirror's how many fans think about the film. On one hand, many fans believe the film was great, citing the amazing relationship between Eddie and Venom, as well as how it remained comic accurate. On the other, however, many fans cite the film as a generic, overblown mess of CGI and cringe. I land somewhere in the middle, I believed the film was good, not great, but not terrible. The first 40 minutes was generic and boring, the middle was very entertaining, and the end was sort of an overblown mess. I rate this film a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars. Go see it if you get the chance, but don’t pay too much.

Who Would Win: The Sun or One Trillion Ferocious Lions?

by Jack Souders& CJ Wilke

Wednesday, November 28th, 2018 

It is high noon. The sun (lowercase ‘s’ because it’s irrelevant) turns the corner around the hypothetical saloon of the hypothetical western town I am setting this showdown in. 100 paces east of the sun stands the literal symbol for bravery, a lion. Behind it stands 999,999,999,999 more of its fellow comrades. The sun remains, still and desolate. It has no sense of strategy, it is slow and immobile, and maybe worst of all, it has no arms. The 1 TRILLION lions, animals built for hunting, work as a team, a unit, to surround and overpower the stupid sun. This is simply one of the many hypothetical situations in which the sun would be easily defeated by both the majestic and ruthless trillion lions. An animal whose group is literally called a Pride. A name is given for a reason.

 

Let’s examine the lion itself. An adult lion’s claws reach lengths of up to 1.5 inches. Its fangs grow to be about 4 inches long! That’s 1.5 trillion inches of claws and 4 trillion inches of fangs. That’s 23674242.4 miles of claws and 63131313.1 miles of fangs sinking into the side of the sun. The average adult lion weighs about 500 lbs and reaches about 8.6 feet in length. According to Marsea Nelson of WorldWildLife.org, a lion can run up to 50 mph and leap 36 meters at a time. Imagine 1 trillion lions surrounding you, confusing you, running 50 freaking miles an hour! Think about the fact that a small baby has the ability to blow out a birthday candle. A lion’s roar can be heard from 5 miles away. This is proof of how powerful a lion’s diaphragm is. So 1 trillion lions would have the breath equivalent of several category 5 hurricanes. It is painfully clear just how hopeless that ball of gas would be in a battle against these beautiful beasts.

        

In order to fairly assess who would win, we have to examine the factors that take place in a fight. With these two competitors, it seems fair to consider four variables:

Size: Now, the sun is roughly 1.989x10^30 kg in mass. The average adult lion weighs roughly 181 kg, and 1 trillion of them equals out to 1.6x10^14kg. So the sun clearly outweighs the massive pride of lions. However, is this necessarily a good thing? The sheer mass and volume of the sun renders it slow, bulky and easily outmaneuvered. So yes, maybe the sun’s size gives it an advantage in terms of stability, but it still does not come without the trade-off of a lack of speed.

Reach: The sun can produce solar flares that reach tens of thousands of miles. HOWEVER, the sun is a sphere, not a very agile shape, AND it has absolutely no control over where on itself these flares will be released. Not only this but they are completely random and the sun has no bearing over WHEN they will happen. A lion has a reach of about 1 meter, but they have the ability to very leap swiftly forward 5-7 meters without a running start. So it seems quite clear that the Lions have the advantage when it comes to reaching, especially in a fight where the opposing force has no control over its distanced attacks.

Experience: This is a fairly simple school of thought to process. The sun is roughly 4.6 billion years old. The average lion lives about a decade or so. So maybe, in theory, the sun has more experience total. But, the experience of what? Existing? Spinning in a circle? This is clearly no help in the world of combat. Lions, however, are born predators. They spend their lives, especially female lions, chasing, hunting, and killing other animals. Literally, every single lion ever has more experience fighting and defending itself than the sun. Lions learn throughout their lives how to stalk, sneak up on, and surprise attack their prey. The sun will have no concept of preparation and will not be ready for a surprise pounce. So obviously the sun is at a disadvantage here.

Aggression: In terms of who is more assertive in a fight, this too is blatantly in favor of the lions. The sun knows no fear, but also knows no rage, and has no concept of strategy in a fight. Lions are fierce warriors, they are competitive, and they are willing to lay down their lives for their Pride members. Lions are not afraid to get in the fight. The sun’s lack of fear is even a disadvantage because it won’t know when the threat is coming, and will not prepare at all for the fight.

 

Lions seem to have the overall advantage in we’ll say 3.5/4 of these categories. The sun can have its overwhelming size, even if it does make it an easier, slower, target. After considering these factors, I know you agree with me in saying that there’s no way the sun could ever defeat a trillion lions. It is physically impossible, and you’d be all the wiser to accept this and embrace it. Have a great day, I know that you’ve been enlightened to the truth.

Taming Of The Shrew Review

by Nathan Brown

Wednesday, November 14th, 2018 

For those that don’t know, many schools’ drama clubs perform Shakespeare, as they were originally written as plays. For Oak Hills High School’s Drama Club, they chose to perform Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew and for the most part, did so with soaring colors. The cast included notable students such as Abby Dollries and Matthew Rottinghaus in lead roles. The rest of the cast was filled with energy and made their roles very memorable. Student Director Nick Rohr stepped up to the plate and should be commended for his efforts. He was able to unite a large group of people and tell a coherent story while still keeping the heart of the story intact.

 

If you’re like me, the only exposure to this type of story you’ve had is the 1999 film 10 Things I Hate About You. However, it’s a well-known fact that the story being told in that film is almost beat for beat the story of Taming of the Shrew. The show tells the story of Lucentio, an Italian student who wants to marry the beautiful Bianca. Only there is one problem: Bianca can only marry once her dreadful sister, Kate, is married. Lucentio hatches a scheme involving double identities, look-alikes, and trickery in order to achieve his price of Bianca. One might say the dialogue is confusing, but the OHHS Drama Club was able to combine both Shakespearean languages with more modern dialect to help the audience better understand the plot. Of course, seeing the 10 Things I Hate About You, allowed me to understand the story better; however, even if someone had not seen it, they would have been able to completely understand due to the cast’s body language and well-designed props.

One of the many praises I have for this production of the show is the excellent costume design. The OHHS Drama Club decided to place the story in a 1950’s high school setting. This required the cast to shop for their own costumes, which consisted of leather jackets, poodle skirts, and fake cigarettes. The prop and costume departments really added a layer of depth to the performance, allowing the audience to get fully engrossed into the story and time period. The sound and lighting were handled by students, which can spell disaster. However, both were handled beautifully by Cassie Stevens.

 

Audience reactions to the performance were extremely positive, and I personally loved the show. Yes, the dialogue was confusing at times, but the story was very well acted and taught a lesson that can be heard throughout the years. The cast performs and works together so well because, as Abby Dollries says, “We’ve spent so much time together, we’re like a little family who drives each other nuts, but we love each other, and wouldn’t trade this experience for the world.” I would absolutely recommend this show to any Shakespeare lover, as well as anyone who enjoys a good story by young talent.

What Would You Do If You Won The Lottery?

by Bailey Garcia & Ciera Franke

Wednesday, November 14th, 2018 

We all know of the MEGA Powerball commotion that has made people insane (not literally, well maybe) for money. The funny thing is, once you hear that someone won, you never hear about that person again. You know, maybe their friends started asking for money and they didn’t know how to handle it and they wasted their money without thinking about it and their happiness was LITERALLY taken out of their body... But, we will assume, for the sake of this article not becoming too real, that the winner was too busy doing better things.  For example, here are some things you can buy with $1.6 billion:

 

  • 806 million cheesy coneys from Skyline

    • It’s Skyline time (all the time)

  • 1.6 billion things from the Dollar Tree

    • Quality investment!!!

  • 3.2 billion things from the 50 cent store

    • Or the whole store probably

  • 16,000 private islands

    • Maybe just one and make it super cool

  • 118 Bugatti hypercars

    • One of every color!! Or get some killer sound systems in those bad boys

  • Go to space with 3,438 people

    • If you even know (and like) that many people

  • The 2 most expensive houses in America

    • Or get 4 of the almost as expensive ones, one for every season

  • The Miami Marlins ($1 billion)

    • How cool would it be to buy BASEBALL men?!?

  • The Hannah Montana Franchise

    • You get the beeeesssttt of both worlds

  • Buckingham Palace ($1.4 billion)

    • Pretty cool place, pretty cool investment

  • New Orleans Pelicans ($1 billion)

    • How cool would it be to buy a BASKETBALL team?!?

  • Chicago Cubs ($1 billion)

    • Could be the animal or the team...you choose

  • Toronto Maple Leafs ($1 billion)

    • Who doesn’t love some Canadian hockey?????

  • Solomon Islands ($1 billion)

    • Definitely worth the purchase

  • Los Angeles Lakers ($1 billion)

    • Only for LeBron (right?)

 

Now, seeing all of these options, are there any that you would actually choose? I mean, Hannah Montana, come on, that would be so cool. Being a billionaire is probably super fun, but also super stressful.  HOWEVER, with this wonderful and useful list, there is no question on what to spend that cash on! Go spend that cash!!

 

Godspeed warriors, full send!

The Truth About The ACT

by C.J. Wilke

Thursday, November 1st, 2018 

The American College Test, or ACT for short, is a test that everyone that who wants to go to college will have to take in order to enter college. The test consists of a Math, Reading, English, Science, and optional Writing. The problem is that the testing is not a good measure of someone's intelligence.

The first issue is that some people don’t have very good testing skills. The reason for this is the test is not something someone can really study for because the questions are always random and will never be the same anytime you take the test. Then, on top of that, the questions can also be derived from topics that most students learned from their freshman year, possibly learning it 2-3 years prior to taking the test. Yes, you can go a take the test prep course, but that is around $400 only to increase by about one point. This is problematic for the people that can’t afford to go to the class. So how are the students that aren’t good test takers going to improve their score if they can’t take this course? Possibly getting an ACT book that has practice questions but that can be around $40. Thus putting people that are not as financially fortunate at a disadvantage for getting a better test score. So why should the income of your family and not being able to afford a class/book for a test be the factor of being able to go to college?

The next issue is that the test covers English, Math, Reading, Science, and an optional Writing portion, which reveals the problem that those subjects don’t really prove how smart you are. Yes, they are the standard subjects of school, but they might not retain to anything a person is going to college for. For instance, say that someone is going to college to pursue something in the creative arts. The test will not prove anything to them. This is based on how the test doesn’t show the creativity and thinking processes of the students it just shows skills in the main categories of school. Due to this if they can’t achieve the required score for their school, they won’t be able to get into the school and won’t be able to get to their dreams just because of a test that they can’t pass that has nothing to do with their career of choice. Thus revealing why the test is not very good at showing the real skill and talent of a student/person.

A resolution to this is that schools could highlight instead the qualities of a good student. Such as the leadership skills a student has and their people skills, along with traits such as perseverance, and focus more on their strengths instead of testing them based on the main subjects of school. They could do this by making a test that is a sort of show of the perseverance and leadership of a student. So overall this shows the faultiness in the ACT and how it can be much improved or even completely done away with to more effectively gauge the qualities of a good student.

Dunkin' Donuts To Just Dunkin' - The Beginning Of A New Saga

by Bailey Garcia & Ciera Franke

Friday, October 5th, 2018 

Dunkin’ Donuts iced coffee is quite honestly the best thing this world has to offer.  The sweet taste of coffee and sugar is so perfectly blended that it makes us cry tears of joy everytime we take a sip.  If you have not had an iced coffee from Dunkin’ Donuts please, for the love of all things holy, stop what you are doing and go get one now.  Like right now. You won’t be disappointed and if you are, well then you need to get checked out.

 

There has been an announcement that Dunkin’ Donuts has decided to change their name to just Dunkin’. This was decided because coffee along with other drinks total up to be sixty percent of their total sales. But in reality, it’s simply because of people like us really just like the convenience of saying “Dunkin’.’ In this article, we will present you with the BEST iced coffee flavors you need to try, like, probably right now.  

 

French Vanilla (Vanilla Bean)- French vanilla iced coffee with cream AND sugar is by far the best coffee to get at Dunkin’.  Do not let anyone tell you otherwise. French Vanilla is a staple flavor, it’ll never let you down; that’s why it’s the best favor to ever exist.  And Dunkin’ makes it just perfect. When you go there next, be sure to order a French Vanilla iced coffee with cream and sugar. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.  

 

Caramel- So, a caramel iced coffee with JUST cream. This is hands down the best drink you will get from Dunkin if you like caramel. There is already a good amount of sugar in the drink so I stray away from adding more, just because it makes it way too sweet and just sits at the bottom. The cream gives the perfect taste to the already yummy caramel and takes down the coffee taste a little, creating the perfect morning drink.

 

Mocha- If you don’t like French Vanilla and Caramel isn’t really your style, Mocha is the one for you.  Chocolate is great any way you can get it, and putting it in iced coffee is simply a genius idea. Our recommendation is to try a Mocha and see for yourself how good chocolate can taste in coffee.  You will for sure love every sip of that large you order.

 

Although these aren’t the ONLY iced coffee flavors you can get, they sure are the best ones that Dunkin’ has to offer.  At least in our opinion. We urge and plead with you to love Dunkin’ as much as we do. Especially if you are in multiple AP classes and drowning in homework, Dunkin’ will be your saving grace at 2:30 a.m. when you are on your 4th mental breakdown of the night. There is a bonus with going as much as we do, they will learn your order and give you free snacks sometimes!! Great people, great business, great coffee, and a great investment.

Parking Lot Panic

by Bailey Garcia & Ciera Franke

Monday, October 1st, 2018 

The parking lot of Oak Hills High School.  One of the worst places to be if you have to be somewhere, or if you aren’t a reckless driver.  Students forget how to drive once they enter the parking lot, thinking that it’s a big game of bumper cars.  Also, everyone forgets about what a line means, as students like to cut in front of people all the time. It’s annoying.  We are asking you to stop. For the love of all things holy, PLEASE STOP. Learn how to drive. You aren’t cool, it’s actually a nightmare trying to see you drive.  

There are students who have places to be after school, work, practice, picking up a sibling. Whatever it may be, it is more important than those who just want to book it on home. In our parking lot, there is no real set way of getting out. It is basically just a random luck of the draw on if you get out of the building early enough or if you get lucky to have someone let you out. For example, working at 3:30 half an hour away is very stressful especially since the parking lot is as bad as it is. Those who have jobs or something important to get to after school should have a privilege to leave class 2 minutes early so we can get in our cars as the bell is ringing to beat the rude people who do not have any respect for those with jobs.

On the bright side, our parking lot just got repaved.  This means that potholes won’t swallow us whole like they used to (my car still cries every time she thinks of it).  However, people still don’t know how to follow lines and not make their own. SOOO...Here are our suggestions:

Install traffic lights at every parking spot.  This way, people are given the light when they are allowed to leave.  We know people may not follow the lights, must be colorblind or something, so in that case, we suggest putting a gate around every car that comes down when they are allowed to leave.  That way everyone will get a turn to leave and can’t escape if he or she are being rude to the other drivers.

Possibly, we could even install sound blockers.  For those of you who don’t see the point in a sound blocker, you are probably the one BLARING your music because you must not be able to hear.  We personally like to hear our own music at a reasonable level. By ourselves. For the people who don’t like this idea, sound blockers come in handy.  We block their car until they turn the music down to be a good citizen. You don’t need to blare your music to be cool, your music taste is probably trash anyways.  

Our next suggestion is to yell at people who do not follow the directions or if they cut someone off or do something else rude. If they do it multiple times they will not be allowed to leave their spot until 3:30 so they can not bother anyone. People need to realize that being rude in the parking lot will definitely get you in a wreck considering there have been a few here already.  Teachers with megaphones would be appreciated to yell at those people who aren’t being nice. Maybe yelling will put it in their tiny brains that you need to follow directions and the law of the road. Not the law of your small head.

We hope this helps.  We hope people start to learn that you shouldn’t be a jerk in the parking lot.  We hope that people who ACTUALLY have to be somewhere get where they need to be without the pinheads of the parking lot stopping them.  Please be good people. Please share the road. We are begging of you to actually learn how to drive. You got your license somehow, right? Prove it.  

Trick-Or-Treat

by Ciera Franke

Monday, October 1st, 2018 

October 31, which is sadly the end of the spooky season. Halloween is known for the tricks and treats, costumes or lack thereof. There is always the question of when is too old to go trick or treating. Those grumpy adults that ask “aren’t you a little old” can go away. Why is there an age limit on when you can trick or treat? Last time I checked there was no age limit o Christmas or Thanksgiving, so why should there be one on Halloween?

 

If there are seventeen-year-olds willing to dress up and go walk around in weather that is most likely cold, then give them the dang candy! If they are dedicated enough to go out and try to collect candy, why should it be any different from the babies that are pushed around and cannot even eat the candy they get. Teens will eat the candy so they should not be criticized for wanting to get some on the day that is literally dedicated to collecting candy.  

 

I understand that there are little kids coming around trying to get candy and there are the cute little babies that everyone loves, but as I said before, they can not even eat half of what they are getting so why waste it on them when the teens will actually eat all of it. People, adults, need to realize that we do it because it is fun, not to bother or harass you for candy. That is literally the point of the holiday.

The Pumpkin Spice Phenomenon

by Elizabeth Dreyer

Wednesday, September 19th, 2018 

Pumpkin spice (informally known as PSL), is back for the upcoming fall season. Starbucks has recently released the PSL and it’s the earliest it has ever been released to the public. So why is pumpkin spice taking over and why does it have such an impact on everyone’s lives? Pumpkin spice is associated with certain senses that bring out feelings that are brought with Halloween, Thanksgiving, and even Christmas. Because pumpkin spice is associated with many holidays, it gives the body a sense of warmth because these holidays are occupied with family and happiness. According to Jacqueline Howard, the scent or smell of pumpkin can trigger nostalgic responses in the brain. With the leaves and weather changing, the more we crave everything pumpkin spice.

The Cold Is Amongst Us

by Gabrielle Dreyer

Thursday, September 20th, 2018 

I was sitting in my room drinking my coffee on a usual Monday morning. I decided to check the weather so my outfit can coordinate with the temperature so I don’t get too hot nor too cold. Right then and there I started to jump up and down finding out that the temperature was 60 degrees. I wore a jacket and pants that day, and even then I was still cold, but I loved it. The cold weather is finally here!

Three friends experiencing the cooler weather

Some might think that 60 degrees is not that cold, but compared to what it has been (90 degrees and above), I take that as being cold. Now that the cold has arrived folks it means that “spooky season” is here. The words “spooky season” is now a new trend among teenagers, meaning Halloween is coming closer and closer. “Spooky season” is now very popular among social media including Instagram and Snapchat, where people are posting DIYs and pictures of spooky socks! Personally, the spooky season is one of my favorite times of the year because of all of the new Halloween movies, the yummy treats, the very cool decor, and of course the cold weather.  Because the cold is here, you are now able to wear sweatshirts and sweatpants without sweating. I’m one to dress to be comfy and now that the cold is here I can fulfill my love for sweatpants and sweatshirts. Sweatshirts and sweatpants are essential items for the cold weather because they keep you warm and are so unbelievably comfortable to the point that they feel like I’m going to school in my pajamas.

 

Along with the cold weather being amongst us, the basic new flavor is also here as well, pumpkin spice. The phenomenon of pumpkin spice is taking over teenagers minds and Starbucks everywhere throughout the world. Pumpkin spice has developed not into just a flavor, but also a scent in places such as Target, Hobby Lobby, and Bath and Body Works. “I love the scent and the flavor of pumpkin spice. I have many candles with that scent and I go to Starbucks every day to get my favorite, the Pumpkin Spice Latte” (Mueller, student).

 

The weather is starting to change and with that many outfits, flavors, holidays, and scents are following along too. “Spooky season” is definitely coming closer causing enthusiasm and joy for all of the fall lovers out there. Every teenager, parent, teacher, and student get ready; the cold is amongst us.

The Physical Freeway

*a satirical approach*

by Ciera Franke and Bailey Garcia

Thursday, September 13th, 2018 

The hallways of Oak Hills.  One of the worst places to be if you are short, or if you don’t like people.  Every day, 2,700 students flood the hallways of Oak Hills High School, rushing to get to class in the five minutes allotted between bells.  Most classes are on the other side of the world makes the trek in the hallways much more enjoyable.

 

Throughout your walk in the hallways, you will see a plethora of things that either make you wish you were blind or make you completely lose faith in humanity.  Luckily, a few teachers stand outside the door so there is a comforting face somewhere along the way. Not to mention, when it is at least 100 degrees outside; the hallways smell absolutely awful. One could compare it to the smell of rotten feet dipped in old fish oil.

 

In order to lessen the trauma of walking through the hallways, Oak Hills should consider installing traffic lights at all of the intersections. This would ensure the best flow of traffic for the most students to get from point A to point B as painless as possible. Adding traffic lights would help lessen the number of tardy students there are because some little dudes can’t push their way through fast enough to get from the mile long to the language hallway. It’s the most ethical option.  

     

In addition to traffic lights, we suggest that everyone, teachers included, wear bright orange traffic cones on their head in order to let the hooligans know that pedestrians exist so they don’t do any weird things. 5th and Vine is basically a teenage girl concert gone wrong-too much drama and so much confusion.  Another suggestion is to assign some teachers, or possibly some scary students, to be school police officers. They could hand out speeding tickets, or a lack thereof, for those who feel the need to walk faster than a cheetah or slower than molasses. For those students who feel the need to stop in the middle of the hallway, a possible crane from the ceiling could swoop down and escort them to the nearest exit where they are permitted to chat all they wish to.  

     

Thank you for coming to our Ted Talk and we hope you seriously consider installing traffic lights and all of our other suggestions for the wellbeing of our students and staff.

The Importance of the Challenge Day Debate

by Pieper Buckley

Friday, September 7th, 2018

Mr. Groh (Left)

Mr. Taylor (Center)

Mr. Murray (Right)

In the United States, young students are very aware of the dangers they face every day. Simply attending school puts these students at risk for fatal attacks at the hands of intruders, strangers, and even their own classmates. It’s no secret that stories of tragic school shootings have pervaded news outlets within recent years, as well as the fighting and political debates that follow soon after. Although it seems these discussions of policy and politics would carry over to schools, talking about these subjects in front of students is strictly prohibited by the majority of American school districts.

 

During an event called Challenge Day on Monday, August 20th, 2018, Oak Hills High School students spent the day attending sessions and talks revolving around the topic of “school safety”. While there were other themes mixed into the lessons, like international school safety and drug abuse among adolescents, the most prominent subject matter was that of school shootings. One of the available sessions for students to attend was a debate between Mr. Taylor, Mr. Murray, and Mr. Groh, all OHHS teachers (pictured below). This debate was focused on showing students how to disagree respectfully in serious discussions, specifically discussions about gun control. While this debate was extremely tame and structured, it marked one of the few times that any teachers were able to speak on their personal political opinions and affiliations. Mr. Groh admitted that he strongly opposed the actions of the National Rifle Association (NRA), while Mr. Taylor revealed he was a paying member. Moments like these were naturally tense, however, each debater respectfully approached their opponents’ arguments. After the debate, no real “winner” was established, and it seems as though the conversation taking place merely scratched the surface of much deeper topics.

 

In speaking to the teachers after the debate, this idea was proven to be true. Both Mr. Murray and Mr. Groh admitted that they felt they were inclined to hold back or tone down certain beliefs they had because they were speaking in front of students. This is most likely due to the fact that they have become accustomed to the policies restricting educators from saying anything opinionated in the classroom. While it makes sense that no teacher should force beliefs on students or try to control their political participation, it is absurd to prevent them from passionately speaking on these issues at all. Mr. Groh states, “I think it’s great for kids to be exposed to these things...both sides need to get heard and it’s good for those sides to debate effectively”. This idea makes perfect sense in a district and city that, historically, has an intense conservative ideology. In modern times, a growing number of teenagers are choosing their political affiliations for themselves as opposed to aligning themselves with their parents. Groh continues, “We live in a very conservative district, parents are concerned that their children will get indoctrinated with political views but it happens anyways. Often, the only perspective they get is from their history teachers...what if all the history teachers have the same opinions? Maybe the art and the science teachers should be able to say theirs as well.”


Although we live in times of heated arguments over government policy and extreme polarization between the Democratic and Republican parties, teenagers need to be exposed to a variety of viewpoints before graduating high school. Teachers should be allowed to talk about current events with an opinion, showing students that it’s beneficial to a democracy to actually form your own feelings and think for yourself. Perhaps allowing the country’s youth to make their own choices about what they want for the future of the United States will pave the way for efficient change in the policy and leadership within the government. The only way to ensure that these ideas can be formed is to provide students with as much exposure to all sides of these issues. To accomplish this, we must begin with our teachers.